JSC “AEM-technology” has obtained a license from National Nuclear Security Administration of China

2019-07-03 11:05:00

JSC “AEM-technology” (incorporated in Rosatom machine-building division - Atomenergomash) has been registered in China People’s Republic as an organization involved in activity associated with NPP equipment.

The registration in National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA) grants the right to design forgings and equipment, manufacture equipment for NPPs of China People’s Republic that enables JSC “AEM-technology” to supply the most important equipment of nuclear island for Tianwan NPP Units 7 and 8 and Suydapu NPP Units 3 and 4 with WWER-1200 reactors, which are referred to the latest generation 3+.

The decision was made on the basis of application documentation review as well as audits conducted by Suneng Nuclear Power Corporation (CNSP) on three sites of JSC “AEM-technology” in Saint-Petersburg, Petrozavodsk and Volgodonsk.

The representatives of the Chinese Party conducted the audit of production subdivisions, measuring and testing laboratories in the Branches. Experts assessed the competence of personnel, the fitting out with equipment, and available references.  Special attention was paid to quality inspection at all stages of NPP equipment production including quality management system being in force at the companies.  

“We obtained the NNSA approval for the whole range of NPP equipment manufactured by our Branches,JSC “AEM-technology” Director General Igor Kotov stated. — This is an important step to enter the strategic market of China. The registration in the supervision authority of China opens the door to participate at once in two projects of new unit construction for Tianwan NPP and Suydapu  NPP.

The next step will be the agreement of detailed design documentation and quality plans, inspection of production readiness of companies supplying metallurgical blanks for equipment.

 The commissioning of Suydapu NPP Unit 3 is planned for 2027, Unit 4 for 2028. The commissioning of Tianwan NPP Unit 7 is planned for 2026, Unit 8 for 2027.